Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
International Research Networks (IRNs)
Share |

 

The purpose of WERA-IRNs is to advance education research worldwide on specific scholarly topics. IRNs are temporary collaborative groups of scholars working on a specific research topic primarily through virtual communications. IRNs synthesize knowledge, examine the state of research, and stimulate collaborations or otherwise identify promising directions in research areas of worldwide significance. Priority products for IRNs include substantive reports that integrate the state of the knowledge worldwide and set forth promising research directions.

 

See the current WERA-IRNs below. WERA strongly encourages the participation of scholars worldwide in ongoing IRNs and welcomes the establishment of IRNs on new research topics.  Detailed guidance on the preparation of proposals will be available in the Call for WERA-IRN proposals. For additional information on how to join an IRN or form a new IRN, please contact wera@aera.net.

 

Active IRNs:

Life Skills and Financial Education

Aukje te Kaat - Graduate School, Universidad del Pacífico aukje@aflatoun.org

 

Teaching, Learning & Literacy for Health. Safety, Life Skills, Inclusion, Social & Sustainable Development 

Daniel Laitsch Centre for the Study of Educational Leadership and Policy (CSELP), dlaitsch@sfu.ca
Douglas McCall
International School Health Network, dmccall@internationalschoolhealth.org

 

Education and Extremism 

Hazel Bryan University of Gloucestershi, Cheltenham, hbryan@glos.ac.uk

 

African Diaspora International Research Network (IRN): The Compelling Case For Enhancing Global Research Exchange Across The African Diaspora African Diaspora Consortium (ADC) 

Kassie Freeman - Teachers College Columbia Universitykfreeman@adcexchange.org  

Ernest Morrell - Teachers College Columbia Universitymorrell@tc.columbia.eduemorrel1@nd.edu

 

International Research Network in Vocational Education and Training (IRNVET) 

Michael Gessler - University of Bremen, Germany, mgessler@uni-bremen.de

Lazaro Moreno Herrera - University of Bremen, Germany, lazaro.moreno@edu.su.se

Muchlas Samani - University of Bremen, Germany, msamani@unesa.ac.id

 

Extended Education

Marianne Schüpbach - University of Bamberg, marianne.schuepbach@uni-bamberg.de

Ludwig Stecher - University of Giessen, Ludwig.stecher@erziehung.uni-giessen.de

 

Dorothy Feola - William Paterson University, United States, FeolaD@wpunj.edu

 

Education Policies and the Restructuring of the Educational Profession Facing the Challenges of Globalization

Dalila Andrade Oliveira -  Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, dalilaufmg@yahoo.com.br

  

Reading Literacy and Associated Reading Interventions for High-Risk Children from Disadvantaged Communities

Surette van Staden - University of Pretoria, Surette.vanstaden@up.ac.za

 

Indigenous Educational Disparities and Pedagogical Practise to Gain Equitable Educational Outcomes for Indigenous School Age Students

Michael Donovan  - Newcastle UniversityMichael.donovan@newcastle.edu.au

 

Families, Educators, and Communities as Educational Advocates: Cross National Perspectives

Lauri Johnson - Boston College, lauri.johnson@bc.edu

 

Overcoming Inequalities in Schools and Learning Communities: Innovative and Audacious Education for a New Century

Rocio Garcia-Carrion - University of Cambridge,rocio.garcia@deusto.es

 

Cognition, Emotion and Learning: Facilitating Students’ Learning Cognitively and Affectively to Prepare them for the Rapid Changing 21st Century

Oon Seng Tan - National Institute of Education, oonseng.tan@nie.edu.sg 

Chua Bee Leng - National Institute of Educationbeeleng.chua@nie.edu.sg

 

Didactics – Learning and Teaching

Brian Hudson, University of Sussex,UKb.g.hudson@sussex.ac.uk

 

Internationalisation of Research in Vocational Education and Training (IRN-VET)

Ludger Deitmer, Institut Technik und Bildung, Universität Bremen, Germanydeitmer@uni-bremen.de
 
Theory and Practice of Using International Large-scale Students Assessments Datasets for National Evidence-based Policymaking ( ILSA­-PM)

Eva Klemencic, Eucational Research Institute – Centre for Applied Epistemology,Ljubljana, Slovenia

eva.klemencic@pei.si

Plamen Vladkov Mirazchiyski, IEA Data Processing and Research Center (DPC)- Randa (Research and Analyses Unit), Hamburg, Germanyplamen.mirazchiyski@iea.dpc-de

Ernesto Treviño, Centro de Politicas Comparadas de Educacion, Universidad Diego Portales (CPCE-UDP)

Santiago, ChileErnesto.trevino@mail.udp.cl

 

An International Knowledge Base for Educational Effectiveness

Michael Pfeifer, University of Dortmund, Germanypfeifer@ifs.tu-dortmund.de

 

Teacher Education for the 21st Century: Developing Teachers Who Are Thoughtful, Reflective, and Inquiring

Oon Seng Tan, National Institute of Education, Singaporeoonseng.tan@nie.edu.sg

Jane Conoley, University of California, Santa Barbarajane-conoley@education.ucsb.edu

Woon Chia Liu, National Institute of Education, Singaporewoonchia.liu@nie.edu.sg

 

Learning to Teach: Building Global Research Capacity for Evidence-Based Decision Making

Maria Teresa Tatto, Visiting Research Scholar, Oxford University, College of Education, Michigan State University

mttatto@msu.edu or Teresa.Tatto@education.ox.ac.uk

Ian Menter, University of Oxford, UKian.menter@education.ox.ac.uk  

Beatrice Avalos, Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chilebavalos@terra.cl or bavalos@uchile.cl

 

Organizational Education

Susanne Maria Weber, German Educational Research Association (GERA), Philipps University of Marburg, susanne.maria.weber@uni-marburg.de

 

Theory into Practice of Educational Assessment and Measurement

Wen-Chung Wang, Hong Kong Institute of Educationwcwang@ied.edu.hk

 

Expired IRN's:

A Critical Examination of Teachers' Professional Dispositions in the New Millenium

Huey-Li Li - University of Akron, hl1@uakron.edu

 

Global Ethics in Higher Education

Vanessa de Oliveira (Andreotti), University of Oulu, Finland, Vanessa.Andreotti@oulu.fi

 

Teacher Learning – Teacher Competencies – Teacher Performance

Sigrid Blömeke, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany, sigrid.bloemeke@staff.hu-berlin.de

 

Financial Literacy a 21st Century Skill - Cross-cultural Approaches to Research

Klaus Breuer, Johannes-Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany, breuer@uni-mainz.de

Sunil Behari Mohanty, AIAER India, sunil@aiaer.net

 

Intersectionality, Methodologies, and Knowledge Mobilization in Research for Social Justice in Education

Joke Dewilde, Hedmark University College, Norway, joke.dewilde@hihm.no

Clea Schmidt, University of Manitoba, Canadaclea.schmidt@umanitoba.ca

Geri Smyth, University of Strathclyde, Scotland, g.smyth@strath.ac.uk

 

Research Network on Marketization and Privatization in Education

Ee-Seul Yoon, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, eeseul@gmail.com

 

Theory and Practice of Pedagogical Design for Learning in Digital Classrooms

Siu Cheung Kong, The Hong Kong Institute of Education, sckong@ied.edu.hk

 

Sociology of Education on Educational Inequality

Heather Price, University of Notre DameHeather.E.Price.86@nd.edu;
Mark Berends, University of Notre DameMark.Berends.3@nd.edu
William Carbonaro, University of Notre DameWilliam.Carbonaro.1@nd.edu

 

International and Cross-cultural Educational Leadership Collaboration and Teaching

Jasmine Renner, East Tennessee State Universityrennerj@etsu.edu

Catherine Glascock, East Tennessee State Universityglascock@etsu.edu

Rosalind Gann, East Tennessee State Universitygannr@etsu.edu;

Arnold Nyarambi, East Tennessee State Universitynyarambi@etsu.edu

 

The Impact of Globalisation on Higher Education

Joseph Zajda, Australian Catholic University Limited, joseph.zajda@acu.edu.au

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal